Last season Bengals won final game: Cincinnati history drought postseason, ‘Bo Jackson Curse’

It has been a long time since Cincinnati saw their two major sports teams progress in the playoffs.

The Reds in baseball reached the postseason in 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2020 and each season is fast approaching. The Bengals entered the competition in 2005, 2009 and 2011-2015, and each time they were eliminated from the wild competition. The only team to have won one tournament in the city are FC Cincinnati, back in USL. Since MLS, it has not reached the playoffs.

Cincinnati fans are accustomed to the frustration of the game, from Carson Palmer’s injury in 2005 to not beating Roy Halladay in 2010, losing three straight at home to the Giants in 2012 and Ben Roethlisberger’s winning streak against the Bengals in 2016 – and two big ones. penalties at the end – a comeback from the impossible show to win 18-16.

The Bengals are back in the playoffs after defeating AFC North for the first time since 2015. They will not only have a game, but will act as their favorite opponents, with FanDuel Sportsbook placing the Bengals as a 4.5-point. favorites. Could this be the year Cincinnati is going on?

Sporting News looks back at the post-season drought that the Bengals endured, how the world was when they won the final game, and where they lost in NFL history.

History of Bengal playoffs

When did Bengal win the final game?

In 1990, the Bengals finished the season with a 9-7 record, building the Houston Oilers and Steelers to be the best records in the AFC Central, but taking the limit through a tiebreaker. The division was the only one in the league without a team that won two numbers.

The Bengals met the Oilers on January 6, 1991, and beat 41-14 opponents to advance to the AFC division. In those games, quarterback Boomer Esiason, now a CBS Sports professional, finished 14-of-20 across 150 yards with two touchdowns. He also ran five times for 57 yards and a half. Cincinnati led 20-0 at half-time, and did not give up the game.

Last year, the Reds won the World Series, setting a deadline for the city to win the competition. Since 1991, the Reds have won the NLDS in 1995, the last time the Cincinnati MLB team has advanced to the playoffs.

‘The Jackson Curse’

Cincinnati just won their first match against the Oilers before meeting the Los Angeles Raiders in the AFC division. Los Angeles won the game 20-10 on a two-game winning streak by quarterback Jay Schroeder.

But the game is not remembered for its results, but for what happened in the game. Athlete and two-time athlete Bo Jackson won the third round of the game and ran to the sidelines. He seemed to be heading towards the end of the line before Kevin Walker could catch him in the back, keeping the goal close.

At the time, the fight did not look like serious or harmful, but it was revealed that he had broken and broken his hip. According to an article from Los Angeles Times at the time, the doctor said Jackson had avascular necrosis, meaning blood was cut from a broken bone. Jackson has never played in the NFL, and has played a few other MLB games throughout his career, spending two seasons with the White Sox and one with the Angels, but had no skills or strength stolen. he was not injured.

Jackson’s injury, an image of a sports game, caused Cincinnati to be affected by the “Bo Jackson Curse,” which was issued for terminating his employment. The Bengals left the team that reached the Super Bowl in 1988 to the worst team in the NFL between 1991 and 2002. It was not long before Marvin Lewis arrived as head coach of the team when Cincinnati was able to return to play, but even then, a quick exit from the postseason each year he leaves the city feeling like a curse rests upon them.

State of the world in 1991

As predicted, the world today is very different from the world where Cincinnati celebrated the ultimate victory.

In the beginning, texting was a thing of the past.

But much has changed. Gas was flowing at about $ 1.14 per gallon, according to the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. Three days after the game, the Persian Gulf War will begin with the start of a US flight. The approval of President George HW Bush was more than 64 percent, according to Gallup, and in time it rose to about 90 percent that year, the highest official approval of the president up to that point. He will lose his decision in one year.

In the world of technology, Microsoft first established its offices in 1990. The most popular phone was the Motorola MicroTac Classic, according to My Broadband. The world was just a year away from PenLite, Apple’s first attempt to make laptops.

“Silence of the Lambs” won the Academy Award for Best Picture. According to The TV Ratings Guide, “Cheers” was the No. 1 radio program for the 1990-91 season. “(Anything I Do) I Make It For You” author Bryan Adams led the song Billboard Hot 100 songs of 1991.

The NFL had only three teams in each conference, with only 28 teams. Houston was still Oilers, the Raiders were in Los Angeles, Charger was in San Diego and the Cardinals were in Phoenix. At the time, the Patriots had never won a Super Bowl. Since then he has arrested the Steelers for his most successful career in league history.

Tom Brady could have finished elementary school when the Bengals won, and when Cincinnati took over the field, he was preparing to enter high school. The only surviving Bengals were Michael Thomas (less than a year old), Kevin Huber (5 years old) and Chris Harris (one and a half years old). Joe Burrow was born about six years later.

The longest NFL tournament has won a drought

Cincinnati’s 30-year unbeaten run in the playoffs is a testament to the longest running competition between any NFL team. The team is another 30-year-old team. The last time Detroit won a game was when he reached the NFC tournament in 1992 at the end of the 1991 season, losing to Washington. If Cincinnati loses on Saturday, it will overtake Detroit again for the longest drought.

Every other team in the NFL has won at least one game in the 21st century.

There have been only three teams that have been around longer than the Bengals did not win the final game.

Cardinals have very long lines, and are not very close. Arizona reached the playoffs in 1998 and reached the semi-finals. However, just before that, the last time the Cardinals won the final was in 1947, when the Chicago Cardinals beat the Eagles to win the NFL title. This is the 51st unbeaten game in the postseason. At that time, the Cardinals left the Chicago Cardinals for St. Louis. Louis Cardinals to Phoenix Cardinals to Arizona Cardinals.

The Lions won the NFL tournament in 1957, and did not win any other final games until the 1991 season which ended in a NFC tournament match for 34 years of drought. At that point, he only reached the postseason three times.

The only other race lost in NFL history is the Saints. New Orleans first became a franchise in 1967 and did not win the final until 2000, when they beat the Rams in a wild tournament. It lost the Vikings in the division.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.